Wednesday, March 03, 2010

No 56 NAPA Crew Claims Tissot Pit Road Award in Las Vegas

The over-the-wall crew for Martin Truex Jr. won the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award in Sunday’s (Feb. 28) Shelby American NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Truex’s NAPA Auto Parts Toyota, out of the Michael Waltrip Racing stable, spent the least amount of time on pit road – 207.012 seconds -- during the 267-lap, 400-mile race. Carl Edwards’ No. 99 Ford was second (207.769) and Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s No. 88 Chevy was third (211.931).

“The No. 56 NAPA AUTO PARTS team has really improved this year,” said pit crew coach Greg Miller. “All of the guys are on board with our program and they are really into what we are teaching and preaching this season. We are very fortunate that the crew we put together has had chemistry. Having good chemistry just helps with everything we do and it paid off on Sunday.”

Truex’s over-the-wall crew consists of: Cory Quick (front-tire changer), Craig Curione (front-tire carrier), Shannon Myers (rear-tire changer), Mark Kennerly (rear-tire carrier), Brian Chase (jackman), Doug Newell (gasman) and Keith Koppenal (catch can). The team’s crew chief is Pat Tryson.

The winning pit crew in each Sprint Cup race will earn $5,000 and a Tissot V8 Quartz Chronograph watch. The team with the most Tissot Pit Road Precision Award wins at the completion of the 36-race schedule will receive a $105,000 bonus plus Tissot watches for the over-the-wall crew members and driver.

Tissot has been the official watch and timekeeper of NASCAR since 2006. The company is also the official timekeeper for a number of other sports, including the MotoGP World Championship, the Ice Hockey World Championship and the Cycling World Championship.


2010 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Winners

Daytona, 2/14 Juan Pablo Montoya Team

Fontana, 2/21 Jeff Gordon Team

Las Vegas, 2/28 Martin Truex Jr. Team


No comments:

Post a Comment